Dogs Teaching Chemistry – A Viral Hit!

About a week and a half ago I posted a video to YouTube about a topic I’m very familiar with…chemistry! I had the idea for some time to do a “chemical bonding” video, where Paige and Dexter acted as atoms, and demonstrated how valence electrons can be shared and transferred during chemical bonding. I never thought a video like this would be so popular! I was amazed after the second day when we received 20 thousand views….well now, ten days later, we have 700+ thousand views! I decided I really wanted to continue the series, so last Sunday I posted a second Dogs Teaching Chemistry episode that focused on the fundamentals of an atom. Here are the two videos:

I have received hundreds of comments, messages, and emails from people and the response has been overwhelmingly positive. I’ve heard from teachers who are showing our videos to their students to get them interested in chemistry. I’ve heard from students who are learning about chemical bonding in their science class and how our video helped them conceptualize the topic. I’ve had science professionals and experts tell me how impressed they were with the idea of dogs helping to teach chemistry and get people interested. Overall, I am completely blown away by all these comments and I am honored so many people are enjoying them as much as I enjoyed creating them.

A little about my background, I am a chemist by profession and I have an undergraduate degree in biochemistry and a master’s degree in chemistry. If you’ve been following my dogs online, you know that my greatest passion is dog training. I spend most, if not all, of my free time training Paige and Dexter, participating in dog sports, attending various classes, competing in shows, doing advertising work like commercials and print, and the list goes on an on. There’s nothing I love more than being with my dogs and strengthening our bond through all the fun activities we do! Creating videos on YouTube is no exception. What I really love about making our own videos is the ability to represent who I am and how much I treasure my animals. I’ve definitely gotten better at filming, editing, and telling a story. It’s a fun, creative outlet and you can bet there will be many more videos coming out on YouTube channel, snuggliepuppy!

Thanks for visiting!
-Lauren, Paige, and Dexter

Featured:

Daily Planet

ABC7 KGO-TV San Francisco, CA

Cheezburger

Yahoo Trending

Scientific American

Discovery

The Washington Post

PawNation

Laughing Squid

Buzzfeed

Tested.com

Geekosystem

One thought on “Dogs Teaching Chemistry – A Viral Hit!

  1. Congratulations for the awesome initiative! It’s very cool that the response from teachers and educators is positive! I wish you much success to this project and your other projects too!

Leave a Reply

